Skip to content
Free Shipping Anywhere in the US
Free Shipping Anywhere in the US
Open season: Get your flags as golf's oldest tournament returns to Northern Ireland

Open season: Get your flags as golf's oldest tournament returns to Northern Ireland

By Luke Porco

On Thursday, July 18, the 2019 Open Championship, the original golf tournament and one of the four majors, begins.The four-day tournament takes place at the Royal Portrush Golf Club in County Antrim, Northern Ireland. Often called the British Open, the Royal and Ancient determined to refer to it as just “The Open”. With the tournament being held outside Great Britain for the first time in 68 years, it is even more apropos to remove the British moniker. 

In this year’s Open Championship, many countries are represented, such as the United States, with Brooks Koepka, Tiger Woods, Dustin Johnson, and Matt Kuchar, among the American golfers in the field. There are also other golfers from various countries, such as 2014 champion Rory McIlroy from Northern Ireland, Justin Rose from England, Francisco Molinari from Italy, and Adam Scott from Australia, among others. This is a prime opportunity to buy flags from your respective country to support your the golfers from your country or even just for your favorite golfer.

Open Championship facts
  • Dates: July 18-21
  • Host Country: Northern Ireland
  • Defending Champion: Francesco Molinari

Embed from Getty Images

While Molinari is the defending champion of the Open Championship, he is not a favorite to repeat. However, McIlroy and Koepka are contenders to win, as well as Johnson. Due to there being an abundance of American golfers in this year’s tournament, the American flag will be a must have item throughout the tournament for Americans to celebrate their fellow Americans in the tournament. 

The tournament will begin with 156 participants on Thursday and conclude with the final round on Sunday. Not only can you buy American flags, but there will also be flags available for other countries represented in the tournament, such as Canada, Mexico, Argentina, England, Ireland, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Sweden, Australia, China, India and Japan. If you do not see your country listed, let us know and we will make sure to have it available. 

Previous article Flags in the news: D-Day flag comes home
Next article Storm the store for Bastille Day and your French flag