Skip to content
Free Shipping Anywhere in the US
Free Shipping Anywhere in the US
On serve: U.S. Open finishes tennis' Slam season

On serve: U.S. Open finishes tennis' Slam season

By Luke Porco

As summer winds down, it heats up one more time for tennis fans with the last Slam of the year -- the U.S. Open. The fortnight begins August 26 at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in Queens, New York. 

This year’s tournament again features some of the best players in the history of the sport. Novak Djokovic of Serbia will be defending his title in the tournament, as well as Spain’s Rafael Nadal and Switzerland’s Roger Federer. For the women, not only will defending singles champ Naomi Osaka of Japan take part, but two other names that have been talked about, for very different reasons, are Americans Serena Williams and Coco Gauff. Williams, who notoriously had a tirade against the umpire during her finals match in 2018, which involved her calling the umpire a “liar” and a “thief”, and later breaking her racket. Gauff, on the other hand, is the 15-year-old phenom knocked off Venus Williams during a memorable run at Wimbledon last month, which made her a household name in the tennis world. This year’s U.S. Open features a diverse group of players from around the world, which is a good reason to buy flags to represent your country, your favorite player’s country, or both. 

  • U.S. Open Facts 
  • Dates: August 26-September 8
  • Location: USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center, Flushing, Queens, New York
  • Defending Champions: 
    • Men’s Champion: Novak Djokovic
    • Women’s Champion: Naomi Osaka
Embed from Getty Images

The tournament will start off with 128 participants including the men’s singles, women’s singles, and doubles tournaments. The final round will take place from Sept. 6-8, with the women’s final scheduled for Sept. 7 and the men’s final on Sept. 8. There are many flags on sale for some of the countries represented, such as the United States, Spain, Switzerland, Austria, Russia, Germany, Japan, Greece, Italy, Croatia, France, Belgium, South Africa, Canada, Argentina, Australia, Chile, Czech Republic, Ukraine, Netherlands, China, Denmark, Colombia, Brazil, and Finland. If we do not have your country, please let us know and we will try to have it available. 

Previous article Join the scrum! Grab flags for the Rugby World Cup
Next article Take our personality quiz to see which country's flag you are.